It’s been a while…

but I’ve at least been busy constructing things that I can now share.

First, Wenlan Chia came out with her 3rd book, Twinkle Town & Country Knits, which led me to knit this:

(a couple of more pictures in the flickr gallery and on ravelry)

It’s the Belle du Jour Tunic made with 2 skeins of Blue Sky Alpacas Brushed Suri in French Roast on size 15 circular needles.  I had a really tough time finding yarn that fit in with my 2008 yarn goal (the eco/socially conscious thing).  The only one I found was Be Sweet’s mohair, but I couldn’t find the right color.  Knitch had it in black, but each skein was $24, which was not acceptable given that it was thin enough to require the double stranding recommended by the pattern.  I settled for this (which did not require double stranding), since it has bamboo as part of its core instead of acrylic or nylon.  Also, BSA is a company I respect given all of the organic products it sells.

I also sewed the dress underneath on the fly, which is made of a paper silk I bought a few years ago in Bhopal, India.  It’s a simple cami dress with gathering at the back waist and a grey chiffon lining, which extends out on the bottom.  Both were worn together on top of a flowy black silk skirt to the opera the other night.  It all turned out pretty well I think.  Although to be completely honest, this was my second version of this.  The first I made a little too long and big, but the hairiness of the yarn doesn’t really allow for frogging.  So in literally 5 hours or so, I made a new smaller, shorter version.  I like both for different purposes/occasions and overall it wasn’t a huge splurge for the yarn given that it only takes 2 (or 3 at the most) skeins of the yarn.

I’ve also been sewing more since I’m absolutely in love with my sewing machine.

This skirt is a modified version of the Sidonie skirt from Burdastyle.  It uses a beautiful heavy silk, kind of almost like canvas.  I’m not sure what the type of fabric is called.  It’s woven I think.  The buttons are gorgeous glass vintage ones I found for like $3 on Ebay.  It turned out pretty well…just needs a little ironing maybe.

As does this creation:

This is a wool suiting fabric and a lovely plastic button I got at Mood a couple of years ago.  I used the Alexis pattern from Burdastyle.  It’s a good office skirt, but the fabric isn’t my favorite.  I’ll probably make this skirt again out of a nicer fabric.

I’ve strangely not felt the urge to blog lately…I honestly care about this election to the point where I feel like I won’t have my normal perspective back until this is all over.  And I can’t wait.

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “It’s been a while…”

  1. andrea Says:

    Dude, I’m way into that tunic!!! I’ve been experimenting a little with dropping stitches lately…that looks like what’s going on? Anyway, awesome job.

  2. Grace Says:

    Love it! Love it! Love it!!!!
    I also love that you made a very Twinkle-esque dress to were under…. very jealous that you are somehow able to sew stuff as fast as you knit stuff!

  3. mmmona Says:

    thanks!!
    it was cool to be able to sew the dress since I didn’t have time to go out and look for one–but there some parts of it that make it pretty clear I did it fast:-) I think part of my ability to do things fast is my relatively new ability to not be perfectionist AT ALL.

    And, yeah, the pattern is done with dropped stitches…which was not really fun with hairy yarn. the twinkle dress I made before was by doing double YOs (or a single YO in some places) every row and then dropping them the next row, which may have been a better choice for this pattern…

  4. Rachel Says:

    What fab stuff – it’s inspiring me to dig out my sewing machine, thanks for sharing.

  5. erin Says:

    I think a lot of people feel that way about this election.

    I like that top you knit. Super cute.

  6. lekkercraft Says:

    I really love the tunic. I think it looks so much more wearable than it does in the book.

    I’m envious of your sewing skills!

  7. Elizabeth Says:

    Hi!

    I love the orange skirt! so cute

  8. Laurie Kahn Says:

    I bought the book…but it doesn’t saw how many stitches to cast on

    • victoria Says:

      Laurie, did you figure out the number of stitches to cast on? I just got that same book, was about to and that you could help! Thank start that pattern, thought I was losing it to not find that info, went online for advice and happened to see your note! That was a year ago, but wondering if this note is reaching you and if you could help? Thank you so much!

  9. victoria Says:

    Hello! Since you have made the “Belen du Jour” by Wenlan Chia, I thought maybe you could help me. I am a ere experienced knitter, but I cannot find on my copy of this pattern in her book I just purchased the number of stitches to cast on. Am I losing it, or was there a revision from the original that you know about? Thank you so much if you could help!

Leave a Reply

