election year calls for a new dress.

I have been obsessed with politics lately.  In a very bad way.  In a way that during one of the party conventions which will remain nameless I found myself screaming out my window how miserable of a human being a former mayor of New York City is.

Seriously insane.  And then a later development in the election really almost killed me…and I rediscovered the meditative, calming wonder that is knitting.  I had known that in preparation for winter I would need some mittens and so I had already decided on Norah Gaughan’s Target Wave mittens from her beautiful Knitting Nature book and some Frog Tree Merino Melange that I ordered from The Yarn Tree in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.  I love Norah’s book because it speaks to the same dichotomy I have in my own life–love of science (traditionally masculine) and a love of some things VERY domestic (traditionally female), and it blends the two seamlessly (pun completely intended).

The Target Wave mittens “were inspired by the look of traveling chemical waves”.

This was the first time I used Frog Tree yarn, which I decided was more than suitable to use given my social/eco conscious goal since the mission of the company is “to supply meaningful and continuous work to various artisans and non-profit groups. Purchases Made by T & C Imports helps by supporting families and their communities.  Funds from our project are used to support worthy educational causes.”  I mostly like it because they’re a non-profit cooperative.  I used the Merino Melange, which is very soft and lovely and will definitely be using it again (it’s also relatively inexpensive).

After a few days, my insanity over the political goings-on of today (which is hard to escape when you live in Washington, DC) started to thankfully dissipate.  And so the knitting frenzy subsided and I returned to sewing and accomplished an FO that I’m extremely proud of.

I’ll be wearing this to a more casual wedding I’m going to next week.  I’m very excited about it.  It’s a gorgeous, almost silk-like cotton lawn.  I’ve only started using patterns and this was my first time making my own pattern, which I modeled after some clothes I currently own.  The collar was shaped off of a shirt I own with a somewhat similar collar and the shape of the dress from another dress.   I just recently discovered the wonders of elastic and have been really into blouson shapes, so I was excited to try that out, which I think went relatively well.  I also have never done the fabric covered button thing before which I may be overly obsessed with from this point forward. It’s also got other fun details like my first try at faced hems.

The whole idea came from this J.Crew shirt.  But I wasn’t about to pay no $88 for a shirt that I can clearly make for less than $20. And even better, it’s a whole dress. I did use their pictures to guide my own creation…their zoom tool is quite handy.

There’s nothing like that feeling when you realize that there’s so much you can do for yourself…like make your own pretty dresses.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “election year calls for a new dress.”

  1. andreaaaaa Says:

    Dude, that dress rules! I am always amazed when people jump into other crafts and can churn out creations that look super professional right away! I honestly thought this was a vintage reconstruction; it looks that good. Sick mittens also!

    BTW–we are ravelry friends and I’ve been reading your blog for awhile; I started my own recently if you would like to trade links!

  2. erin Says:

    that dress is adorable!
    the yarn tree is great, they have good sale’s but the weirdest hours.

    i’d like to learn how to sew. i just bought a sewing maching and i’m playing around with tote bags but i think i’m going to take a sewing class at this cute little shop in brooklyn.

  3. knitlit kate Says:

    the second i saw your dress, i thought it actually came from j. crew…but i only remember seeing a top like that and not a dress. i can’t believe you made it yourself from a picture no less! you did a fantastic job and your fabric selection is perfection…maybe j. crew designers will see this and come up with their own dress ; )

  4. Bee Says:

    Mon,

    You know I have a weakness for J Crew and woven fabrics– the dress is great!

Leave a Reply

