An explanation

I’ve been absent lately, which I feel requires some level of explanation. Especially since I was really good about posting before…sometimes 1 (or even 2!) a day. But now…now it’s summer. And I have new toys. So I’ll take this “opportunity” of being one of the few people who can manage to catch a really bad case of the flu in the middle of July to write something for once…

Before I reveal the new obsession of late, I also want to note that this time of year marks the one year anniversary of me and knitting. It’s been a beautiful year and our marriage was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

But exclusivity was never in the vows. So I’m seeing someone else on the side.

The Bernina Activa 230. We’re pretty much in love. My parents actually set us up. A graduate school graduation gift (a year late, but this is a pretty amazing gift, so I’ll let that slide).

I don’t think my knitting stash knows what’s going on yet, but they may have noticed that I play with them a little less since my new acquisition. And so, I’ve had the great opportunity to revisit some fabric I’ve been waiting (years!) to do something with.

Like this paper-like silk I bought in India in 2006.

And this newer splurge: a yard of Liberty of London cotton lawn.

While I’ll never divorce knitting — or even get a separation, I think a year of monogamy is generally all I can handle with an activity/profession/etc. (NOTE: Luckily “etc” doesn’t seem to apply to personal/romantic relationships with me. For me an open relationship would only work between me and my hobbies…). So, though I don’t think I’m ever done with the things I start doing seriously, like knitting, I’ve come to realize a pattern: I pick things up with intense enthusiasm, continue obsessively for about a year, and then as would be expected, I burn out.

Ultimately the result is positive. I let go for a while, but then resume my interest at a more healthy, non-obsessive level. But this eventual indecisiveness also leaves me with constantly wondering what I’m going to be when I grow up…which with this line of thinking I’ll never be. In the summer of 2006 I was working in India for a local consultancy and my boss asked me what I was going to do when I graduated (from grad school). I told him all the different options and that while I had narrowed it down I wasn’t really sure exactly what I wanted to be doing. He expressed surprise that at my age (never a nice phrase to use with anyone ever) I could still be wondering. I know things are different in India and that these decisions are made quite early, but it still hit a sore spot.

I’ve accepted this part of my character to some degree and know that my life will just always be full of change — which is just the way I like it.

So onto a new chapter of sewing with a fancy machine (which I’ve never done before). I now have the task of finding “green” fabric now, which doesn’t seem too easy to come by. I’m sure it will just require some fun discoveries.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “An explanation”

  1. Grace Says:

    I am super jealous of your Bernina! (super meaning jealous in a good way) Good luck and have fun learning all her tricks. I am completely married to knitting at the moment…. my machine is sulking n my desk as I am typing this.

  2. Michelle Says:

    My mom just gave me her copy of the Complete Sewing Guide. It is fantastic and I have learned sooo much from it. I am happily surprised to see the same book that is next to my sewing machine next to yours. Though my machine is of the same era as the book and not nearly as fancy as yours.
    If you ever happen to pass through Texas, stop in Austin. I think it is a city that is right up your alley.

  3. mmmona Says:

    Yes! The complete guide to sewing–I actually started reading it for fun, it’s SO good. And I love the cover–I admittedly bought the older version b/c the cover was so much better than the newer editions.

    a good friend of mine is moving to Austin soon, so I will definitely be visiting…I hear nothing but good things!

Leave a Reply

