Happy Mother’s Day!

I’m relieved that I finished it in time.

This is the Medallion Shawl by Norah Gaughan from this past winter’s Vogue Knitting. It’s made on 9s with the now discontinued Rowan Linen Drape, acquired through Ebay and my first Ravelry trade, which is my new favorite thing. It’s a fantastic way to keep the possessions from piling up while still getting new things to keep me excited. The pattern calls for alpaca (I think) and smaller needles (6s I think), but I went with what I had and I wanted bigger, lacier, more summery hexagons. I’m actually really happy with it and am happy to give it to my stepmom for Mother’s Day. I did make a couple of modifications/short-cuts in that I left out the last 2 hexagons because I thought they would be too droopy tacked onto the ends and I didn’t do the crocheted edging. I thought it would actually look kind of messy since the hexagons are so loosely knitted in my version.

So, this will now be my offering to my great stepmom.

I consider myself to be pretty selfish and so I have endless admiration and wonder for those women that have assumed the most selfless position in life.

This day always makes me think back to my mother who died when I was young. Mothers are the ultimate role models and mine was and always will be a real life goddess to me: incredibly smart, skilled, talented and just lovely. She had a fabulously effective strictness and thoughtfulness in raising me and hopefully some of her strength and integrity has trickled down to me. One of my most distinct memories as a child was spending afternoons at the library with my mom cobbling together a huge pile of books to bring home. I consider myself to be endlessly blessed for that.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”

  1. Marie Says:

    Thank you for the post. The shawl is lovely and your memories of your mother brought tears to my eyes, as I was sitting here feeling like such a failure as a mother.

  2. Lolly Says:

    This is totally beautiful. You stepmom will undoubtedly love it. Great yarn too. Thanks for sharing your memories of your mother – she sounds like she was an amazing person.

  3. Candy Says:

    Damn gurl, you’re a knitting savant! This is hardcore and very cool. And I look forward to seeing you ride around in your knitted bicycle ha… Knit us into a world of better transportation!

Leave a Reply

