More diversions.

My attention has not been undivided lately…it’s had been tossed all over the place and easily drawn into instant gratification endeavors, such as quick knitting projects.  I’ve been wanting to do some side planning-related projects, one of which will be forthcoming, get to know my not-new-anymore Crown Graphic large format camera, and also to finish some craft projects that have been going on for a while now.  But I keep getting sucked into the allure of new yarn and quick new patterns.

Actually, I think I just had my very own I-have-ADD epiphany.  Seriously…a light or bell or some other sort of alarming signal just went off in my head.

Right so, back to the diversions…here they are in finished form:

Diversion #1:  Finished Twinkle Cropped Top:

Excuse the apparent confusion on my face…I had sort of just woken up, which is always a traumatic event for me.  I hear it’s like watching a baby deer learn how to walk every morning.

So, this is the Cropped Top from Twinkle’s Weekend Knits and was knit on size 11 needles with 2 strands of Rowan Purelife Cotton held together.  It should have come out insanely small given the directions to use size 15 needles and 4 strands of the Twinkle Cruise, but alas, it’s not and it still stretches.  I did add 2 more rows of ribbing to all of the borders except the bottom to make up for the expected smallness, which was the only modification I had.

So the yarn.  The yarn I have talked about before and this was my first test run.  It’s apparently the only commercial yarn to be organically grown AND dyed.  And I love it.  It’s definitely my new favorite and I will be using it as often as is economically possible-however my yarn diet does begin now.  Purelife is very light, extremely soft and has a beautiful sheen that actually makes it a perfect substitute for the Twinkle Cruise, despite being 100% cotton.  It’s really quite beautiful and I highly recommend it.  Just in case this information affects your decision, the cotton is grown in India (the label indicates some sort of fair trade deal, but I’ll double check on that and report back) and the yarn is made in Italy.  Combining those two destinations is apparently a popular trip, given the fact that I just did it a few weeks ago…

Diversion #2: Purl Bee’s Rochefort Chapeau

This was done using leftover Jo Sharp Alpaca Kid Lustre…which is sourced all the way from New Zealand.  I’ve been reading about how buying far far away may not always be an environmental evil if the production of that good can be done more energy- and resource efficiently.  The example I read about was apples, where if you live in the UK for example and buy apples locally they would actually have a higher fossil fuel input during production than those produced in New Zealand.  I’m not convinced yet, but it’s an interesting concept.  I’m also not sure how this would play out with fibre production.

Whether I made the earth cry or not by using this yarn, this is my new favorite hat.  It really isn’t easy being green.  Actually I used stash yarn, so yes it is.  Always on top, Mona.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “More diversions.”

  1. lekkercraft Says:

    Really cute – you wear that Twinkle stuff really well! I’m going to take a look at that Rowan yarn – it sounds great.

  2. Kia Says:

    I am loving that skirt. Did you make it?

    • mmmona Says:

      Thanks, but no I didn’t make it–but I’m so flattered that you would think I could…maybe the picture isn’t too good:-)
      It’s a fabulous consignment store find–a vintage Yves St Laurent.

Leave a Reply

