Why I hate optimists.

Careful, this is a rant.

I hate optimists.  By this I mean people that say stupid things that they haven’t bothered to validate with any real information other than their own feelings or anecdotes and then bow out of the debate by saying, “Well, I’m an optimist.”

The implication of course is that I am unnecessarily negative.

Haven’t these people heard of blissful ignorance?  Because that’s what it is.  Ignorance.  It’s not taking the time and effort to really assess reality, question what’s going on, and think of solutions to make it better.

What happened to critical thinking and problem solving?

What has ever been made better by simply pleading optimism.

Yes, global warming, war, aids–it’ll all disappear if we just try really really hard…in our hearts.  I’m an optimist.

disclaimer.  I am at work later than I should be.  And I’ve had my second run-in with the so-called optimist.

7 Responses to “Why I hate optimists.”

  1. crackedteal Says:

    Love this.

  2. affiliate clickbank Says:

    Fantastic post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Kudos!

  3. can i consolidate private student loans Says:

    I read this paragraph fully about the comparison
    of newest and preceding technologies, it’s remarkable article.

  4. bad credit lender mortgage Says:

    Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog
    stand out. Please let me know where you got your
    design. Thanks

  5. Cierra Says:

    I encountered your weblog on yahoo and read a few of the posts.
    excellent work! I just twittered about your blog

  6. Deena Says:

    As a beginner, often hunting for articles on the
    web which will aid me. thanks

  7. anonymous Says:

    If you hate optimists, then why are you one of them?

Leave a Reply

