Why Parker Posey, Why?

I don’t really watch primetime TV anymore. But sometimes I have it on while I knit.

Right now I’m watching The Return of Jezebel James.

I saw the previews for this show a few times and was baffled. It’s a sitcom. A seemingly mediocre sitcom, but starring Parker Posey and Lauren Ambrose. Two actresses I adore. Ever since Ms. Posey uttered, “Wipe that face off your head, bitch” in Dazed and Confused I’ve been in love. And I loved Lauren Ambrose in Six Feet Under…one of my most favoritest shows. These are 2 actresses I think have artistic and intellectual integrity.

So I’m confused and I’m watching the show hoping that it will be something witty enough to merit their involvement.

But so far it’s laugh tracks and lame jokes.

At first I thought Parker Posey’s acting was kind of horrendous in it…like she knows it’s stupid writing and she’s making fun of it. Or I guess I hope that’s what’s going on.

But every once in a while I see a slight glimmer of promise that it could be weird and quirky…but I feel like it’s only because these 2 women are in it. The laugh track is really irking me.

Glimmer aside, the show sucks. I just don’t get why they’re in it. Maybe there’s something in it I’m missing…

I’ll promptly be turning off the show and putting on the Six Feet Under DVD I have from Netflix…and reminisce about better times.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Why Parker Posey, Why?”

  1. Sonia Says:

    So funny–I just survived that show too and came online searching for something to rid my brain of the memory. And the laugh track. And I love Parker Posey too! Maybe it will get better?

Leave a Reply

