sometimes I get angry…

When I have to defend things that I feel need no defense: like knitting.
I received a comment on my Hillary’s Nipple post that ended with a comment about returning to the subject of knitting, with what I interpret as a suggestion that knitting is frivolous.

Here’s my question to all that think knitting is frivolous:

What can you do/make that is useful? (typing doesn’t count)

Can you actually meet any of your basic needs on your own–food, clothing, shelter?

Maybe I’m alone in this, maybe I’m not–but I’ve always had incredible respect for people that are able to do these things: carpenters, metalsmiths, farmers, knitters and sewers, among others.

2 Responses to “sometimes I get angry…”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Wow…frivolous? There was a time when it was a matter of neccessity, not hobby. But, I guess I shouldn’t be shocked in such a immediate-gratification-consumer society.

    I completely agree with you.
    -Magalie

  2. Nadine Fawell Says:

    Me too.

Leave a Reply

