Day #9, Tomato Petal

Hi everyone.

I really wanted to change the course of these next couple of days to write about some substantive goings on, particularly in the realm of normal everyday people making an environmental difference….but I’m sick and busy with a lot of work and other professional goings on.

So, like yesterday, I present to you an ongoing project: my Petal, pattern by Stephanie Japel.  I was inspired by this version (on Ravelry) by Ravelry user Natsuko.  I am basically making the exact same thing, even with her sizing modification using size 6 needles rather 7s.  I loved her entire creation, dress and all and realized I had some perfect Be Sweet Bambino in Coral that needed to be frogged from a yarn-eating Twinkle project that I would probably never ever wear after taking the photos of it for this blog (kind of like my Vogue Twinkle Dress).  I was initially going to make the Gitane Tunic Dress from the new Town and Country book, but after spending $100 on Bambino in black and coral for this project, a quarter of the way through I realized I would still need about $75 more of yarn to actually finish.  The whole thing definitely seemed not so worth the money and trouble.  I still think it’s beautiful and think it would actually be better (by which I mean at all wearable and at all affordable) if I modified the pattern to use 3 strands of yarn instead of 4 and used smaller needles to get a less chunky final product.  But that seemed like a lot of effort…

So I frogged what I had and am going strong on this little cardigan.

A note on the yarn.

It’s INCREDIBLE.  In all ways.  It meets so much of my criteria: socially responsible, organic, low impact dyes, alternative fiber (bamboo); but it’s also crazy soft and the colors are beautiful and rich.  Even if it weren’t “good” and “green”, the yarn itself is just gorgeous and soft like a cloud.  Most perfect for baby stuff, so I just ordered a bunch to make a baby blanket for a friend.

Almost there, friends…3 more days!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Day #9, Tomato Petal”

  1. Wrap it up « Textiles and Bicycles Says:

    […] blanket is made of Be Sweet Bambino (one of my most favoritist yarns ever) in sea green and natural.  I used two size 5 circulars and […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

